Day 12. San Cristobal

After my 13 hour bus journey (which wasnt too bad) i arrive in San Cristobal and get to my hostel. 

The hostel I have chosen (Hostel Posada Mirador) is exactly what i need, its homely and inviting and theres not a bunk bed in sight! 

Its a bit fresher here in the mountains so i keep my jumper on (Top Tip- make sure you have layers to put on when travelling by bus long distance, the AC will freeze you) and collapse onto my bed. 

Its all of about 30 seconds before im chatting to Aaron and Jacob and ive exchanged some of my pesos for Guatamalan quetzals with Jacob (for what is apparently a good rate, i do check). They are getting the bus in a couple hours to Cancun but before then are heading to one of the Artesian markets here and invite me along. Theyve also been travelling with Luce who joins us too.

The town is the picture of mountain living and i feel like ive been transported back in time. There are woman in traditional dress and brightly coloured houses down each street and the architecture is so pretty.

The market is huge and filled with handmade goods and we also pass by a church that has a service in progress. The singing drifts out into the town and its enchanting. Another thing that you notice while walking around is the amount of coffee shops and the smell of freshly roasted coffee beans, San Cristobal is one of the best areas in the world for coffee.

Anyone who knows me will tell you how much a love nik naks, so i cannot resist buying a brightly coloured braided bracelet that sums up the life and vibe of this place so perfectly.

We grab food and head back to the hostel where the boys grab their bags and go, Luce is staying for a few more days so we sit and chat.

I have a shower and head to bed, im so tired from the journey and have booked onto a trip tomorrow that means i have to be up at 4am, so much for an easy day! 

Author: findingmywayaroundworld

Hi, Im 22 and have left my full time job as a healthcare worker to travel the world solo. I have 1 year and a rough plan, starting in Mexico and finishing (hopefully) in India. This blog is my way of keeping connected with my friends and family, remembering my adventures and hopefully helping fellow travelers.

Leave a comment